GIT-VERSION-GEN: adjust for ancient git
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Tue, 8 Aug 2006 20:11:16 +0000 (13:11 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Tue, 8 Aug 2006 20:20:18 +0000 (13:20 -0700)
commitc96c29093f70f04e01ff1d3a9c1d509ef6afdb00
treed06fa2b082679d2a17a18e087f1e93804bc8c7c1
parent329a304714255f6e5528b4311d29f9d83c85d201
GIT-VERSION-GEN: adjust for ancient git

When an ancient "git" that does not understand "describe"
command is on the $PATH, "git describe" emitted a Usage message
without exiting non-zero status (which is a mistake we cannot
fix retroactively).  Catch this case to make sure we do not try
using phoney multi-line string as a version number.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
GIT-VERSION-GEN