pretty: add "%aL" etc. to show local-part of email addresses
authorPrarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Tue, 29 Oct 2019 12:09:14 +0000 (08:09 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 30 Oct 2019 02:49:41 +0000 (11:49 +0900)
commitd8b8217c8a16944dc61a1553464efabc450a6680
treeabb6adff8c4f1dff6418082630369842adf00741
parent45e206f0d845cfc85c39c98d0090104e72176d71
pretty: add "%aL" etc. to show local-part of email addresses

In many projects the number of contributors is low enough that users know
each other and the full email address doesn't need to be displayed.
Displaying only the author's username saves a lot of columns on the screen.

Existing 'e/E' (as in "%ae" and "%aE") placeholders would show the
author's address as "prarit@redhat.com", which would waste columns to show
the same domain-part for all contributors when used in a project internal
to redhat.  Introduce 'l/L' placeholders that strip '@' and domain part from
the e-mail address.

Signed-off-by: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/pretty-formats.txt
pretty.c
t/t4203-mailmap.sh
t/t6006-rev-list-format.sh
t/test-lib.sh