Add 'force' flag to *hot_remove_disk().
authorNeilBrown <neilb@suse.com>
Mon, 27 Mar 2017 03:36:56 +0000 (14:36 +1100)
committerJes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@gmail.com>
Tue, 28 Mar 2017 18:32:35 +0000 (14:32 -0400)
commit1ab9ed2afb7ca50c4f922a0b85c4e6631becde02
treea6665958e0403b661b81750434b0c23e0109abaf
parentfdd015696c2e2a6b234a92af564aea44b62e6a0d
Add 'force' flag to *hot_remove_disk().

In rare circumstances, the short period that *hot_remove_disk()
waits isn't long enough to IO to complete.  This particularly happens
when a device is failing and many retries are still happening.

We don't want to increase the normal wait time for "mdadm --remove"
as that might be use just to test if a device is active or not, and a
delay would be problematic.
So allow "--force" to mean that mdadm should try extra hard for a
--remove to complete, waiting up to 5 seconds.

Note that this patch fixes a comment which claim the previous
wait time was half a second, where it was really 50msec.

Signed-off-by: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: Jes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@gmail.com>
Grow.c
Manage.c
mdadm.h
util.c