Super1: allow RAID0 layout setting to be removed. master
authorNeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
Wed, 14 Oct 2020 02:12:48 +0000 (13:12 +1100)
committerJes Sorensen <jsorensen@fb.com>
Wed, 14 Oct 2020 15:40:40 +0000 (11:40 -0400)
commit97b51a2c2d00b79a59f2a8e37134031b0c9e0223
tree1958109eec5a7e8926e2ecfaac02a90ecd00187b
parent7f3b2d1d1621cbdc60b5af4a41445391010fe9e1
Super1: allow RAID0 layout setting to be removed.

Once the RAID0 layout has been set, the RAID0 array cannot be assembled
on an older kernel which doesn't understand layouts.
This is an intentional safety feature, but sometimes people need the
ability to roll-back to a previously working configuration.

So add "--update=layout-unspecified" to remove RAID0 layout information
from the superblock.
Running "--assemble --update=layout-unspecified" will cause the assembly
the fail when run on a newer kernel, but will allow it to work on
an older kernel.

Signed-off-by: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Jes Sorensen <jsorensen@fb.com>
md.4
mdadm.8.in
mdadm.c
super1.c