Use dev_t for devnm2devid and devid2devnm
authorMike Lovell <mlovell@bluehost.com>
Wed, 18 May 2016 18:23:13 +0000 (12:23 -0600)
committerJes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@redhat.com>
Fri, 3 Jun 2016 19:35:26 +0000 (15:35 -0400)
commit13db17bd1fcd68b5e5618fcd051ff4137f1ea413
treefbba6f912d4251402a4a5ddd63d1fca678561ed4
parentdf2647fa5bbe84960dae11531e34bafef549b8ff
Use dev_t for devnm2devid and devid2devnm

Commit 4dd2df0966ec added a trip through makedev(), major(), and minor() for
device major and minor numbers. This would cause mdadm to fail in operating
on a device with a minor number bigger than (2^19)-1 due to it changing
from dev_t to a signed int and back.

Where this was found as a problem was when a array was created with a device
specified as a name like /dev/md/raidname and there were already 128 arrays
on the system. In this case, mdadm would chose 1048575 ((2^20)-1) for the
array and minor number. This would cause the major and minor number to become
negative when generated from devnm2devid() and passed to major() and minor()
in open_dev_excl(). open_dev_excl() would then call dev_open() which would
detect the negative minor number and call open() on the *char containing the
major:minor pair which isn't a valid file.

Signed-off-by: Mike Lovell <mlovell@bluehost.com>
Signed-off-by: Jes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@redhat.com>
Detail.c
Grow.c
lib.c
mapfile.c
mdadm.h
mdopen.c
util.c