Config: Disable XZ parallelism by default
authorMichael Tremer <michael.tremer@ipfire.org>
Fri, 10 May 2019 02:36:58 +0000 (03:36 +0100)
committerMichael Tremer <michael.tremer@ipfire.org>
Fri, 10 May 2019 03:16:08 +0000 (04:16 +0100)
Exporting XZ_OPT caused that every time xz was called, it automatically
enabled parallelism. The make systemm also launches multiple processes
at the same time to use more processor cores at the same time.

The combination of this causes memory exhaustion even on large systems
and has no performance gain. Therefore this is disabled by default
and only enabled where we need it which is already the case.

Signed-off-by: Michael Tremer <michael.tremer@ipfire.org>
lfs/Config

index 42da3f3..f597b8c 100644 (file)
@@ -32,6 +32,7 @@
 
 # Cleanup environment from any variables
 unexport BUILD_ARCH BUILD_PLATFORM BUILDTARGET CROSSTARGET TOOLCHAIN TOOLS_DIR
+unexport XZ_OPT
 
 PARALLELISM = $(shell echo $$( \
        if [ -n "$(MAX_PARALLELISM)" ] && [ $(MAX_PARALLELISM) -lt $(DEFAULT_PARALLELISM) ]; then \